Posted by: Makakai | May 31, 2011

Twixt Night and Morn

I recently had a guildy whisper me with the news that his interest in the game was renewed after he recently geared out his 3rd pvp toon, a holy paladin. I was excited that he’d reconnected with the game as I knew he was getting burnt out with it. In the process of the conversation I mentioned that I had yet to get around to gearing my druid for pvp as there was too much for me to see and do with my limited play time right now. The conversation led to an agreement that he’d have to invite me to run a bunch of battlegrounds with my druid and not my geared out priest so that I would finally gear my druid. Note that he’s mostly into pvp not pve and we do regular bgs and arena together so this conversation was not unusual between the two of us.

I mention this little story because of a recent post by one of my favorite bloggers BBB with his posts When you wish upon a star and One inch deep and a million miles wide. Both the titles and the content motivated me to blog about the concepts of burn-out and finding a new interest in the game. In fact, any readers left on my blog may assume that I left the blogging scene, which happens all too frequently. For those readers wondering, I’ve moved to a different state and gotten a new job in the past two months so limited time to play or blog. I’m not burnt-out on the game, I’m in fact finding so much to do that I don’t have time to do everything I want to. One of my previous posts mention my dual boxing efforts and demonstrate that I’m a terribly avid altaholic with two accounts just so that I could level another set of healers.

I’m seeing a lot of comments right now on the forums and blogsphere from active folks hoping that patch 4.2 will prevent the decline in players logging in and the general concerns about burnout within the player base. As manaobscura pointed out there are three contributors to burnout: variety, frustration, and re-playability. Those players that are not running heroics or doing PvP, leveling alts, or even role playing are the ones that are limiting their ability to find variety and re-playability within the game. To a certain extent Blizzard is responsible for limiting the lack of re-playability of the game, but the factors of variety and frustration are primarily player centered. Additionally, with the higher priority blizzard placed on guilds with the Cataclysm expansion, the social aspect of the game is a stronger factor than anything else keeping players active and motivated. Therefore, if a player limits themselves to a single toon and a single activity within the game (i.e., raiding) they are just speeding themselves down the path of lack of variety and increased frustration.

BBB found variety in leveling an alt, my guildy found re-playability by gearing out another alt for pvp, and I’ve found both in the fact that I enjoy both pve and pvp. For me, it helps that I’m part of an amazing guild that is very alt friendly and will support each other both in and out of the game. I’ve found continued interest in the game and hope many others will continue to hold strong to a game that “hovers like a star, twixt night and morn, upon the horizon’s verge.”

Quote by Lord Byron

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

