Posted by: Makakai | June 14, 2011

PvP Product Line

In my weekly blog reading, I came across an amazing analogy produced by one of the advanced pvp blog writers I recommended last week.

I like Product A, and have liked it for a while. But now, in order to enjoy Product A, I have to also buy Product RBG, which is more expensive, is more of a hassle to assemble, and takes longer to deal with. I can get Product A on its own, but I get less than I used to without Product RBG.

And this change is because sales of Product RBG are low. It’s a quirk of the product that if more people had Product RBG, it would probably be easier to use, which is arguably a good thing for the vendor.
Cynwise’s Battlefield Manual

I wanted to post this because it represents one of the constant trade-offs that occur for the casual player. Before the “great raid restructuring” that occurred with Cataclysm, this argument could be used by a casual PvE player as follows:

I like Product 10, and have liked it for a while. But in order to enjoy Product 10, I have to also buy Product 25, which is more expensive, is more of a hassle to assemble, and takes longer to deal with. I can get Product 10 on its own, but I get less than I would without Product 25.

And this change is because the combined sales of Product 25 and Product 10 are low. It’s a quirk of the product that if more people had Product 25, it would probably be easier to use Product 10, which is arguably a good thing for the vendor.

Except in the PvP case, instead of everyone being able to use Product A/Product 10, they are requiring everyone to use Product RBG/Product 25. What if they balanced raiding such that the Valor Points awarded for 25 man raids so overshadowed the 10 man raids that in order to get your Valor Point cap for the week you were required to do 25 man raids in the current lockout structure? Um, yeah. This line of thinking is going to take me down a rabbit hole I don’t want to see the inside of… I leave it there and make your brain hurt instead.

Happy Healing!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

