Posted by: Makakai | July 5, 2010

Healer DPS

Hello, my name is Mak, and I like healing! Why do I bring this up and point out the obvious? Because of a weird trend I noticed in all of the Cataclysm talent preview information. In fact it is particularly noticeable in the druid and priest talent changes. That horrible specter DPS has shown up on healing talents!

For example:

[Improved Tree of Life – Reduces the cooldown of your Tree of Life by 90 sec., and increases your damage done while in  Tree of Life by 15%.]

[Evangelism – When you cast Smite, you gain Evangelism increasing the damage done by your Smite, Holy Fire, Holy Nova and Penance spells by 4% and reduces the mana cost of those spells by 6% for 15 sec. Stacks up to 5 times.]

Wuh?! If I wanted to kill things I would play a dps character! Is Blizzard seriously catering to the bored, over-geared healer whining by requiring healers to produce damage output? Does this mean that boss fights are now going to require healers to dps on top of trying to keep 9/24 other people alive? I hope that the cataclysm testers actually try to use this so that the designers realize how bad of an idea it is. On top of losing tree form now I’ll be required to tell the tank sorry you died I was dpsing to get a healing proc.

I’m really flabbergasted with these talent changes…

P.S. This was instigated by the post over on Shy at WoW.
Leave a Reply

Categories

